top of page

Kentanji Brown Jackson wraps Supreme Court confirmation hearings with grace


Photo courtesy of the Daily Important


Thursday marked the final day of Supreme Court confirmation hearings for nominee Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson.


Jackson defended her legal record against Republican senators during another round of questions during the hearing.


The Democrats gave Jackson high praise and kind remarks on her career. She even got applause from Democratic Sen. Cory Booker of New Jersey, saying "You have earned this spot. You are worthy."


Booker added, "You are my harbinger of hope. This country's getting better and better and better. And when that final vote happens, and you ascend onto the highest court in the land, I'm going to rejoice.”


Judge Jackson spoke about her journey to becoming a judge when Democratic Sen. Alex Padilla asked her, on behalf of young people, "What do you say to some of them who may doubt that they can one day achieve the same great heights that you have?"


She shared how she tries to talk to young people often and then spoke on the tribulations she went through to get where she is.


"I appreciate the opportunity to speak to young people. I appreciate it very much. I do it a lot for the reasons that you have articulated," she said. "I hope to inspire people to try to follow this path because I love this country because I love the law because I think it is important that we all invest in our future.”


If Jackson is confirmed, she will fill Justice Stephen Breyer's vacancy and become the first Black woman to serve on the Supreme Court.


The Senate Judiciary Committee will be voting on Judge Jackson's Supreme Court nomination on Monday, April 4.


38 views0 comments
bottom of page